Skip to content


Most of Finnish Defence Forces units train conscripts

Here are the units divided by branch


Army units

The Army is led by the Army Command in Mikkeli.

Navy units

The Navy is led by the Navy Command in Turku.

Air Force units

The Air Force is led by the Air Force Command in Tikkakoski, Jyväskylä.

Other Administrative Bodies are the Defence Command Finland and its subordinate establishments and the National Defence University.

The word garrison means an area with one or more units. For example the Helsinki Garrison consists of the Guard Jaeger Regiment, Naval Academy, Defence Command Finland and some other additional units.